Pureharvest help center

Click on a question below to drop down the answer

Is your Rice Malt Syrup gluten free?

Yes, our Rice Malt Syrup is gluten free.

Why are your soy sauce products from China?

There are no soy sauce manufacturing companies in Australia so it is necessary to source our products from overseas.

Our soy sauce products are produced in Anshan in northern China, directly opposite the Korean Peninsula, in co-operation with a company there that produces traditional soy sauce in the Japanese method (a liquid brewing system that ferments the product for up to a period of nine months) using whole soybeans and natural Koji starters.

We began working with this company in the early 1990s and have had them certified organic through the European Ecocert agency, as well as helping developing their HACCP and quality control programs. We have been continually working with them since this time and visit them at least twice a year to oversee manufacture.

Their certification and growing practices are independently audited by European third party agencies on a yearly basis. They are a small business not aligned with any large corporation and their organic soybeans are sourced from the surrounding region from small farmer co-ops. Our business relationship is based on a fair trade policy.

Do you heat your Organic Honey?

We gently heat and filter our organic honey, but never above 45 degrees.

Do your Soy Milk products contain any powders or isolates?

We derive the goodness which goes into our soy milk from the whole bean and do not use any soy protein isolates in our products. As an isolate is not a whole food we do not use it.

Soy protein isolates are very refined soy products. They are derived from defatted soya beans. Soybeans which usually have had the oil extracted with the use of Hexane.

To make soy protein isolate the defatted soybean flakes are washed in either alcohol or water to remove the sugars and dietary fibers. This also removes most of the soybean flavor along with the carbohydrates from the bean flake. Using alcohol to extract the protein usually results in the largest loss of soy isoflavones, which are organic compounds that act as antioxidants and have been credited with helping fight certain diseases. Using water to extract the protein results in less loss of isoflavones in the final product.

Soy protein extracted using alcohol has low solubility while soy protein that has been extracted using water has a higher solubility factor. Soymilks made using soy protein isolate are usually made from isolates stracted by the use of water.

The final step in the process of soy protein is dehydration. Once all the moisture has been removed from the soy protein isolate it is powdered and used to make food.

Are there any sweeteners added to your Oat Milk?

We do not add any sweeteners to our oat milk. The sweetness in the product is derived from the conversion of the oat starches to maltose, a complex sugar that can, under guidance, be consumed by diabetics and people on ‘low sugar’ diets.

Why is Almond Milk more expensive than other non-dairy milks?

Organic almond milk is more expensive than our other non-dairy alternatives because the organic almonds from which the product is made are a relatively expensive product.

We use 10% whole activated almonds when making our almond milk, which give it a deliciously creamy texture without the use of thickeners or additives.

Is your Organic Activated Almond Milk raw or is it cooked in the manufacturing process?

Our Almond Milk is cooked for a short time before being cooled, chilled, and then pasturized.

Is your Organic Soy Milk hexane free?

Our soy milk is completely hexane-free. We use whole soybeans when making our soymilks and they are not processed using hexane.

Hexane is generally used to extract oil from grains such as corn, soy, and canola. 

The use of hexane is a cost-effective and efficient method for separating whole soybeans into soy oil, protein, and fiber. In this process soybeans are immersed in a “hexane bath” before they are further processed into ingredients such as oil, soy protein isolate, or texturized soy protein (TVP). Some soy protein ingredients used in foods such as vegetarian burgers and nutrition bars may have been processed with the use of hexane.

Soymilks made with whole soybeans do not under go this processing.

Are any sweeteners added to your Organic Rice Milk

There are no sweeteners added to our organic rice milk products. The sweetness in the product is derived from the conversion of the rice starches to maltose, a more complex sugar.

Is Pureharvest Organic Oat Milk gluten free?

Oat milk is not gluten-free as oats contain gluten. The gluten in oats is a different kind of gluten to that found in wheat, but it is still gluten. While some people do not react to the gluten in oats, oats nevertheless contain gluten.

Our dairy-free, gluten-free milks are our rice milks, our soy milks and our organic almond milk.

Where are your imported ingredients sourced from?

We strive to source our ingredients from Australia whenever possible. When ingredients are unavailable locally we source them from overseas. Because of changes due to availability we do not always source our ingredients from the same location, and recommend you get in Contact with us directly if you have a query about a particular product or ingredient.

How can we trust the organic certification of imported ingredients?

All our imported materials are certified by internationally recognised organic standards. As certifying bodies differ from country to country please Contact us directly if you have a query about a particular product or ingredient.

Is your packaging recyclable?

Our packaging is made of recyclable material wherever possible. Please look for the recycling symbol on our individual products.

Does the seaweed in some Pureharvest milks contain iodine?

We add a seaweed (Liththamnium sp.) to calcium enriched products. This is a calcified form of seaweed and is not the same as kombu that was previously added to some soymilk products. This seaweed contains approximately 28.4 micrograms (ug) of iodine per 250ml serve of milk, which is well within the recommended daily intake.

The current recommendations by the World Health Organisation for daily iodine intake are 90 micrograms for infants, 90 to 150 ug for children, 150 ug for adults and 250 ug for pregnant and breastfeeding women. Any more than 500 ug intake per day is considered excessive and is unnecessary. While taking more iodine will not do any good it is unlikely to do any harm until an adult ingests more than 2000 ug per day.

The only exception to this recommendation is the person who suffers from Graves’ disease (overactive thyroid) who should avoid extra iodine as it may make the overactive thyroid worse.

Where can I find more information about your overseas distribution?

For information regarding overseas distribution of our products please contact us.

Is sulphur or any similar chemical used in the production of your dried fruit?

We do not use sulphur or any other such chemical in our dried fruit or any of our other organic products.Organic standards do not allow for the use of sulphur in organic foods.

For further information on the Organic Standards, click here

Where can I find allergen information for your products?

As we have a wide range of products, each with different ingredients, we recommend you view our individual Product Pages for allergen information.

We are currently updating our website and allergen information or the product you are looking for may not be listed so please Contact Us directly.

Do you offer your milks in sizes smaller than 1L?

Our milks are currently available in one litre packets only.

Some of your products contain “plant calcium’ – what is the source of this calcium?

The calcium source we use in our milks is calcified seaweed known as Lithothamnium sp., commonly marketed as Aquamin.

Aquamin is a natural, multimineral product.

Aquamin is rich in calcium, magnesium and 74 other trace minerals including zinc, iron and selenium. It is produced from the red algae, Lithothamnion Calcareum, which is found in just three locations in the world, including the south-west coast of Ireland and Iceland. During a five-year life span, these algae absorb essential minerals from the sea – this gives Aquamin its unique multimineral content. The algae then break down naturally and settle on the sea bed. These calcified skeletal remains are harvested, washed, dried and milled into four forms for different food and drink applications. Nothing else is added to the ingredient.

As only the mature/aged material is harvested – not the live young plant – sustainability is assured. The plant regenerates itself continuously, so there is no interference with its renewal process.

The nutrients in Aquamin are highly bioavailable – in other words the body easily absorbs the nutrients.

For further information please click on the link below:

http://aquamin.com/about-us/a-unique-product/ 

How do I know if the milk seal has broken?

Tamper evidence on our milk products is provided by the blue cap being attached to the base of the pouring fitment by 3 breakable “legs”. These are broken when the pack is opened. The twist action of the cap rotates a cutting ring located in the pouring fitment which in turn cuts the foil seal and pushes it out of the way of the flow of product, hence the fact that you do not see a foil seal when the cap is removed. If the pack is opened and re-sealed, these “legs” on the caps will not line up again. If the cap is made to line up so that it looks like the seal is not broken, the pack will leak if inverted, and inevitably will spill product if the pack is picked up and squeezed.

I have been unable to find my favourite Pureharvest product recently at my usual store. Is it still available, and if so, is there a supply problem?

Individual stores can often be out of stock, or discontinue stocking some products, without our knowledge. It is best to contact your store directly to work out the reason that your favourite product is no longer available. If the product has been discontinued we recommend that you get in contact with your store directly, please see our Where to Buy page for more information.

 

Alternatively, we also have a number of distribution partners throughout Australia and in many overseas countries . These distributors will be able advise the closest stockists of our products for your purchase and their details can be found on our Where to Buy page.

I’m interested in purchasing one of your products, do you sell to individuals?

Unfortunately, we do not have the capacity to sell directly to individuals. We suggest to our customers that they request their local store to stock their preferred Pureharvest products. We urge our customers to do this by contacting their natural food store or supermarket directly.

 

Alternatively, we also have a number of distribution partners throughout Australia and in many overseas countries . These distributors will be able advise the closest stockists of our products for your purchase.

You can find details for stores and distributors on our Where to Buy page.

What water is used in your products? Does it contain fluoride?

The water used in our products is fluoridated town supply water. This water is sand and active carbon filtered. This filtering process filters out all microbial load (organisms) and chlorine but allows most of the minerals to remain. Unfortunately not all of the fluoride is removed by this filtration method. The most effective way of removing fluoride is through reverse osmosis, but unfortunately the resulting water would also be devoid of any of the essential minerals rendering it “dead water”.

Are oats gluten free?

We acknowledge that the type of gluten found in oats (avenin) is not the same as the type of gluten found in wheat (gliadin) but we maintain that oats contain avenin which is a form of gluten. We do not believe that oats are gluten free, nor that the gluten present is only contamination from other crops.   
 
We realise there are differing opinions on this topic, especially between different countries, but we are guided by FSANZ (Food Standards Australia and New Zealand) who do not allow any foods containing gluten to be labelled as gluten free and they put oats into this category.

Are your rice products tested for arsenic content?

Yes, the rice we use is tested for the presence of heavy metals including arsenic, and the products made of rice are also tested. The test results are always well under the level accepted by FSANZ (Food Standards Australia and New Zealand).

Do your non-dairy milks contain any calcium?

We do make two calcium fortified non-dairy milks. Organic Nature’s Soy Enriched and Aussie Dream Organic Rice Milk. Our other non-dairy milks (Oat milk, Almond milk and Coco Quench) have no added calcium and although they naturally contain some calcium, they are not considered a good calcium source.

Does your milk packaging contain BPA?

No, our packaging is BPA free.

Do your milks contain carrageenan?

No, we don’t use carrageenan in any of our products.

Still need help?

Email: info@pureharvest.com.au Phone: +61 3 5625 6100 Fax: +61 3 5625 4008 Post: P.O. Box 178, Drouin, Victoria Australia 3818

Send us a message

Fields marked with an * are required